Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (QFES) has imposed a local fire ban for Northern Region residents. 

The local fire ban will be in place from 0001 hrs on Friday, 8 November 2019 for residents in the Burdekin, Charters Towers, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, Richmond and Townsville areas.

This ban also includes part of the Whitsunday Local Government area, formerly known as the Bowen Shire Council area.

Heightened fire conditions are perfect for bushfires to ignite and spread quickly.

Under a local fire ban all open fires are prohibited and all Permits to Light Fire which have been issued in the designated areas have been cancelled. 

Power tools may be used during a local fire ban however QFES encourages people to use these with extreme care and ensure adequate equipment is available to extinguish any fire which may start.

This may include having a person available to watch out for any ignitions that occur.

The ban is expected to remain in place until 2359 hrs on Sunday, 10 November 2019.  

Information on fire bans and the exemptions that can apply can be found on the RFS website, www.ruralfire.qld.gov.au.