Effective 5pm, Saturday 9 November 2019

A State of Fire Emergency has been declared across 42 Local Government Areas in Queensland, following a period of significantly heightened fire weather conditions expected to continue into next week.

The State of Fire Emergency prohibits the lighting of all types of outdoor fires, and bans certain activities that can cause fires to ignite.

Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (QFES) Acting Commissioner Mike Wassing said fire crews were battling multiple blazes and all possible steps had to be taken to prevent further fires igniting.

“We’re experiencing tinder box-like conditions across much of the state and all it takes is one spark to start a fire that may burn for days,” Mr Wassing said.

“This declaration is vital to prevent bushfires breaking out and posing a danger to lives and property.”

Mr Wassing said the declaration overrode all existing permits to light fire, banned fireworks and the lighting of any outdoor cooking fires.

“The declaration also prohibits welding, grinding and the use of oxy acetylene cutting or heating outdoors,” he said. 

“The use of the machinery and power tools in open areas has the potential to exacerbate the bushfire risk, which is why it is essential people do not use these tools outdoors.

“The declaration also gives QFES the authority to draw on private resources, such as plant and equipment, to assist in firefighting or preparation.”

Mr Wassing said substantial penalties could be issued to those who breached the declaration.

“The penalties for contravening this declaration are serious – a fine of up to $3,336 or two years imprisonment,” he said. 

“Our crews are doing a fantastic job protecting lives and property, and we ask that Queenslanders continue to do their part to prevent fires starting and spreading.”

Mr Wassing urged Queenslanders to remain vigilant and continue to follow the advice of authorities.

“Everyone should have a bushfire survival plan and know what they are going to do if a fire approaches,” he said.

“People need to keep up-to-date on the QFES website and social media channels, and tune into local radio.

“It is important they follow the advice given and don’t leave it too late to evacuate if they need to. 

“Bushfire prevention is a community effort, so it is essential people report fires and to Triple Zero (000) immediately.” 

The declaration will be in effect until revoked.

Local Government Areas included in State of Fire Emergency:

QFES South Eastern Region

LGAs Included:
Gold Coast City
Ipswich City
Lockyer Valley Regional
Logan City
Scenic Rim Regional
Somerset Regional

LGAs Not Included: 


QFES Brisbane Region

LGAs Included:
Brisbane City
Moreton Bay Regional
Redland City

LGAs Not Included: 

QFES North Coast Region

LGAs Included:
Bundaberg Regional
Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire
Fraser Coast Regional
Gympie Regional
Noosa Shire
North Burnett Regional
South Burnett Regional
Sunshine Coast Regional

LGAs Not Included: 


QFES South Western Region

LGAs Included:
Southern Downs Region
Goondiwindi Regional
Toowoomba Regional
Western Downs Regional

LGAs Not Included: 
Balonne Shire
Paroo Shire
Bulloo Shire
Maranoa Regional
Murweh Shire
Quilpie Shire
Blackall Tambo Regional

QFES Central Region

LGAs Included:
Banana Shire
Gladstone Regional
Rockhampton Regional
Central Highlands Regional
Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire
Livingstone Shire
Isaac Regional
Mackay Regional 
Blackall Tambo Regional

LGAs Not Included: 
Barcaldine Regional
Longreach Regional
Barcoo Shire
Winton Shire

QFES Northern Region

LGAs Included:
Whitsunday Regional
Burdekin Shire
Townsville City
Hinchinbrook Shire
Charters Towers Regional
Flinders Shire

LGAs Not Included: 
Richmond Shire
McKinlay Shire
Cloncurry Shire
Diamantina Shire
Boulia Shire
Mount Isa City
Burke Shire
Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire
Mornington Shire
Palm Island Aboriginal Shire
Carpentaria Shire

QFES Far Northern Region

LGAs Included:
Cassowary Coast Regional
Tablelands Regional
Cairns Regional
Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire
Croydon Shire
Etheridge Shire

LGAs Not Included: 
Carpentaria Shire
Mareeba Shire
Douglas Shire
Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire
Cook Shire
Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire
Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire
Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire
Aurukun Shire
Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire
Napranum Aboriginal Shire
Mapoon Aboriginal Shire
Northern Peninsula Area Regional
Torres Shire
Torres Straight Island